Key Stage 4 - Religious Studies (Full Course)

Exam board: AQA Religious Studies 8062

Aims of the Course

The Full Course GCSE in Religious Studies offered at KSHSSA is in line with the AQA qualification.

The specification gives candidates the opportunity to:

Course content / structure

Students are allocated 5 hours per fortnight of timetable time in years 10 and 11 for their religious Studies.

The course content is divided into two components:

  1. The study of religions: beliefs, teachings and practices
  2. Thematic studies

Component 1: The study of religions: beliefs, teachings and practices

Beliefs, teachings and practices from the following religions:

Component 2: Thematic studies

4 Religious, philosophical and ethical studies themes:

The 4 highlighted themes have been selected:


Component 1:


The questions within each religion have a common structure of two five-part questions of 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6 marks, plus one 12 mark question.

Each religion is marked out of 48 marks.

Component 2:


Each theme has a common structure of one five-part question of 1, 2, 4, 5 and 12 marks.

Each theme is marked out of 24 marks.